Photo editing in GIMP

Waves

While I’m figuring out how to do my Hawaiian scene like the Kona beer bottle I decided to try something I have very little experience of: photo editing. Usually I just chop up bits of photos or trace them into Inkscape to use as vectors. But like most things I know nothing about I am deeply curious.

Check out the original tutorial here then get your hands dirty with some post-processing goodness. Also check out other examples from 60+ of the best GIMP tutorials 2010 over at scottphotographics.com

I followed the tut pretty closely but I chose blue for my colour layer, desaturated my original layer and played with the colour curves. What is seen in the tutorial example but isn’t mentioned is the crop. All in all I got a much more dramatic picture. Try it out!

Leave a Reply

